Putting aside for the moment…

Once in a while, I do a search of the blogosphere for mentions of Yawning Bread. You can call it market research, or vanity. It’s probably both🙂

Today, I stumbled upon a funny one. Pak Su of the Cyberia Blog Archive mentioned and linked to an old article of mine, but what was noteworthy was how he opened his blogpost:

Putting aside for the moment his admission that he is gay, a Singaporean blogger, Yawning Bread, penned some interesting points about what might be described as the “historical Malays”. You may contrast this, if you so wish, with the modern Malaysian’s “constitutional Malays”.

It seems that my sexual orientation is such a huge monster looming over any and everything to do with me that Pak Su has to pre-advise his readers to make an effort to hold their mental earthquake in check.

It reminded me of a comment in a local bulletin board in 2006, right after I made the news with the wide-angle photograph of the election rally in Hougang. The comment said, in trembling words: “Do you know that Yawning Bread is homosexual?” Gasps were the appropriate response to that comment.

These things don’t bother me much. They speak more of the writers than of me. But I think it is still important that we should flag them by way of saying, “Get over it. It’s the 21st century already.”

5 Responses to “Putting aside for the moment…”


  1. 1 Anon123 9 June 2009 at 19:21

    LOL. It’s a variation on “self-confessed”. And it translates as “I don’t want to you to think I’m one” as well as implying that “generally what gay people may say should be discounted, but here is an exception”.

  2. 2 TJ 10 June 2009 at 11:43

    Perhaps we do a tit-for-tat “Putting aside for the moment that he is straight with wife and 2 kids in tow…..” It sounds ridiculous.

    Really as if gays are not capable of rationality and rational thoughts.

    I think you should put Pak Su in his place.

  3. 3 Janet C 16 June 2009 at 21:26

    I’ve long appreciated your blog; in fact your political posts were what first hooked me, and your orientation (which was unknown to me in the beginning) didn’t matter a whit. Over time, it just “made sense,” but not quite how it sounds; I just think that it generally takes people outside of the mainstream (in various forms) to show the type of insightfulness typical of your writing.

  4. 4 Sylvia 23 June 2009 at 13:45

    When I see “self-confessed” used in the mainstream media in particular, I suspect that it works as a disclaimer so that readers do not think that the newspaper ‘outed’ the person as gay (meaning without permission). Having said that, I’ve also noticed that more progressive media outlets will just state that xxx, is “openly gay” instead of using the term “self-confessed” to make the point.

  5. 5 xtrocious 25 June 2009 at 19:43

    No thanks to you know who, many still think of gays as being “sick”…sigh

    Otherwise, why is there a need for the disclaimer (disassociation)?


Leave a Reply

