Why I went AWOL, part 1

All it took was someone downstairs of my apartment complain of a leak and wheels were set in motion. I lost control of my life. And it’s not over yet.  Full essay.

21 Responses to “Why I went AWOL, part 1”


  1. 1 ike 21 August 2009 at 18:47

    bear with it , and you got yourself a palace right after

  2. 2 sloo 21 August 2009 at 20:17

    Welcome back! i was certainly worried when i logged onto your site daly and there was no updates on comments on the news of the day. Glad to know you are hale and well, albeit covered a little too much in dust. I have also experience what you went through, living in my flat while my contractor hacked down a wall to expand my master bedroom. It was hell but i made it through the cement dust alright. So dust yourself off quick and start blogging; i for on cannot wait to read your pieces on everything that has happened the last few weeks.

  3. 3 Larry 22 August 2009 at 08:33

    Good to have you back, Alex.

  4. 4 Pat 22 August 2009 at 10:27

    This is an excellent essay.

    Teachers should use in schools as an good example of a descriptive composition.

    Very well done Mr Yawning Bread !

  5. 5 darren 22 August 2009 at 10:30

    Welcome back Alex… Now we know why you went AWOL!

    It’s great to hear from you – and wow. Major reconstruction in life – unplanned, but done! Congrats.

    Just good to know you’re okay.

    Rgds
    Dazz

  6. 7 Teck Soon 23 August 2009 at 15:45

    I checked almost every day for a new article. You were missed!

  7. 8 Desmond 23 August 2009 at 21:14

    Hahahaha… sorry to laugh about your problems Alex but it is very funny the way you write it. Yes it is true, patching is more problematic than doing everything from scratch. I have gone through what you have gone through before (my place having been “upgraded” recently) and boy I was really pulling my hair out every day for at least 2 weeks, after which I decided to renovate my entire apartment, thank goodness I could bunk in at my parent’s place.

    P.S. Isn’t it a bit too much information that you cook in the nude.😛

  8. 9 liew kk 23 August 2009 at 22:06

    Hi YB

    Glad to see your post coming alive again. Your woes seems to reflect the culture of poor planning in Singapore that requires everything to be ripped apart frequently. We can never escape the drill here

  9. 10 Saint Splattergut 23 August 2009 at 23:08

    good to have you back.

  10. 11 Arendar 24 August 2009 at 13:06

    Ah, glad you’re back and safe; was about to send out the search party…;-)

  11. 12 Yvette 24 August 2009 at 14:23

    Man, I’ve missed you. Your writing I mean. Glad you’re back.

  12. 13 Vic 24 August 2009 at 16:31

    Sorry to hear about your horrible ordeal. But welcome back! Sounds pretty familiar. When I got the keys to my 22-year flat, it was dripping from the ceiling of the guest toilet. The previous owner had apparently craftily painted over the hole as a “cover up.” It’s not his problem.

    So I contacted HDB, they told me it’s a $1,000 job. My neighbour above has to pay $250, I pay $250 and HDB pays $500. “It’s in the policy.” said HDB. Ok, what if the neighbour above refused? “We’ll try our best to persuade.” came the non-answer.

    I decided to take matters into my hands. I paid my neighbour a visit and spoke nicely to her, explaining my predicament and that a HDB officer should be along the way pretty soon. Thank God she was nice and agreeable.

    So the contractors came, hacked her toilet and replaced it with a new one. Your account gave me an idea how horrendous her ordeal must have been. I’m now glad I paid her a visit after everything was done and cleaned up.

  13. 14 Anonymous 24 August 2009 at 21:33

    My home is being upgraded too. Thankfully the internal works (i.e. upgrading within the appartment) is over. For the 10+ days of internal works, I had to use a public toilet during the day and the portable toilet installed during the night. It was dusty everywhere, but I decided to close my eyes and sleep with the dust. Being a singleton, I also faced the dilemma of staying in to monitor the valuables vs going out for my food, etc. In the end, I locked my room for my laptop, but left the kitchen appliances lying as-is. Took some days to clean up after the works were done.

  14. 15 Paul 24 August 2009 at 23:12

    Thank God you’re back. The Singapore mediascape really is intolerable without Yawning Bread’s leavening presence. And over the National Day period summore!

  15. 16 bin 25 August 2009 at 09:11

    Indeed, these unexpected disruptions can be very frustrating. Life is already difficult enough without these inconveniences. Looking forward to part 2 of your story though.

  16. 17 CK Lin 25 August 2009 at 10:07

    Hi Alex,

    Don’t mean to laugh at your predicament, but this looks like a scene straight out of Fawlty Towers! I’m sure you will appreciate the comedy, or tragi-comendy, once the dust has settled literally!!

    In the mean time, keep writing. I’m sure I speak for a lot of your fans, but we certainly miss your articles.

    Regards,
    CK

  17. 18 Sacha 25 August 2009 at 10:22

    Hi Waiping, welcome back! I missed your write-ups & was a bit concerned that you may have been visited by our famous security team. Glad that it was nothing of that kind.

  18. 19 Ape 28 August 2009 at 13:08

    Ooh, ooh, ape thought wat happened to you. Glad to have you back!

    Seems like you’ve just gone through a mini Interim Upgrading Program… without the mobile toilet placed in your kitchen.

    Think on the brighter side, at least you can afford to be at home,even though you’re a single. Ape and wifey would have to take leave from work.

    Ape’s flat just went through IUP and spotted the “warzone” in ape’s neighbours. Good thing ape has not moved in yet. However, ape must give credit to the various contractors, very efficient and almost clockwork.

  19. 20 Jeff Wong 30 August 2009 at 11:12

    Hi there, you know it”s not like you couldn’t have a relay if you wanted. You do have a bevy of groupies who would die with joy to help you out a little bit here and there with all the stuff. As usual you went it alone because you WANTED to not because you had to🙂 So good luck….

  20. 21 Tuesday 16 November 2009 at 11:58

    Lol. Why not hold a painting party and ask a couple of friends to come help, music, wine and some pizzas / fried chicken. It’ll be fun and you’ll finish up the painting really fast.

    If you STILL need help with re-painting, Alex, I will in fact be glad to lend a hand.


Leave a Reply

